About Us


No matter your rank, department type or position in the fire and emergency service, the IAFC is here to serve you. Count on us to help you gain knowledge, build confidence and pave your path to successful leadership.

The Missouri Valley Division serves the states of Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming. In addition to our executive board (President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, International Director and Immediate Vice President) each state has its own State Director. 

In order to serve the membership, the Board serves as the liaison between the IAFC and the States. Communication is provided by participating in state chief’s conferences, maintaining a website, email blasts, etc. 

The secretary of the Division is generally available by phone, 620-341-7669, or by email, mvdchiefs@gmail.com, to provide immediate assistance. If not immediately available, please leave a message for a return call. Serving our membership is important to us.

Division Officers

Executive Board

Dave Rierson

Chief Dave Rierson

Vice President
Member Since 2007
Steve Dirksen

Chief Steve Dirksen

1st Vice President
Member Since 2007
Jim Silvernail

Chief James Silvernail

2nd Vice President
Member Since 2007
Jack Taylor

Chief Jack Taylor

Division Secretary
Member Since 1994
Joel Boespflug

Chief Joel Boespflug

Past President
Member Since 1987

Chief James Wamsley

International Director
Appointed 2020

State Directors

Gordie Olson

Chief Gordie Olson

Jarrod Wellik

Chief Jarrod Wellik

Jeff Degraffeneid

Chief Jeff Degraffenreid

Chief Lake

Chief Donna Lake

Brian Daake

Chief Brian Daake

Chief Dennis Thompson

Chief Dennis Thompson

Nebraska Municipal
Gary Lorenz

Chief Gary Lorenz

North Dakota
Michael Koopman

Chief Michael Koopman

South Dakota
Craig Haslam

Chief Craig Haslam


State Chiefs' Associations

Division Documents